Remember X: The Life and Legacy of a Civil Rights Legend

unnamed (1)

The Harvard Islamic Society invites you to a special event commemorating the 50 years that have passed since his death. This event will feature Malcolm’s youngest daughter, Ilyasah Shabazz. Our goals for the event are simple, to raise awareness of the immense legacy left by Malcolm X in the many arenas of his life. We hope to promote a more complex and well rounded dialogue about his significance in our country’s history, as well as the untold narrative of civil rights and Islam as they did and continue to exist together in America.

Please click here for event details.

Congratulations to the Executive Board of 2015!

Asalamu alaykum,

On behalf of the HIS executive board, it is an honor to announce the winners of the HIS elections earlier today. We are grateful to all those who nominated candidates, showed up to vote, and to the candidates themselves for all the past work they have done and the responsibility they have chosen to take up next year. The 2015 executive board of the Harvard Islamic society is:

President: Lana Idris ’16
Vice President: Hassaan Shahawy ’16
Secretary: Zarin Rahman ’18
Treasurer: Zaahid Khan ’17
Director of Internal Relations: Abeer Eltemtamy ’17
Director of External Relations: Zainub Dhanani ’17
Director of Islamic Learning: Mohammed Ahsan ’17
Director of Development: Ameen Chaudry ’17

The new board transitions later this month. We are looking forward to the great work they will do, inshaaAllah, and wish them the best of luck moving forward.

Upcoming Events

Events on March 5, 2015

Adams Halal Dinner Table

Starts: 6:00 pm

Ends: 7:00 pm

Location: Adams House Small Dining Hall

Events on March 6, 2015

Ju'maah Prayer

Starts: 1:30 pm

Ends: 2:15 pm

Location: Lowell Lecture Hall

Events on March 6, 2015

Remember X: The Life and Legacy of a Civil Rights Legend

Starts: 7:00 pm

Ends: 9:00 pm

Location: Ames Courtroom, Harvard Law School

Events on March 7, 2015

HIS Board Meeting

Starts: 1:00 pm

Ends: 2:00 pm

Location: Canaday Musalla